As I sit here pondering the milestone I will reach this Thursday (graduating from high school), I can’t help but think about the fact that medically I never should have been born into this world.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

On January 19, 1994, my parents, who had two children ages three and two, were told that my mom was showing signs of early menopause; Mommy was thirty-one years old. The doctors believed that Mommy was going into early menopause because of the chemotherapy treatments that she had had over the previous years. My parents were encouraged to be content with the two healthy children that they already had.

My parents were content and knew that the Lord’s will was always perfect. A couple months after that check up, my parents were surprised to figure out that Mommy was pregnant.

Exactly eleven months after the very day my parents were told they couldn’t have any more children, I was born December 19, 1994, at 7:02 a.m. I weighed 6 lbs. 14 oz. Other than severe jaundice, I was a normal, healthy baby. 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

For the last eighteen and a half years of my life I haven’t had any serious medical problems as a result of the circumstances surrounding my birth. The Lord has truly blessed me! So this Thursday as my family and I celebrate my huge milestone of graduating from high school, I will also be praising my Heavenly Father for His miraculous work of bringing me into this world!

“For You formed my inward parts; You wove me in my mother’s womb. I will give thanks to You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made; wonderful are Your works, and my soul knows it very well. My frame was not hidden from You, when I was made in secret, and skillfully wrought in the depths of the earth; Your eyes have seen my unformed substance; and in Your book were all written the days that were ordained for me, when as yet there was not one of them.” (Psalm 139: 13-16 NASB)

Newborn

Clockwise from upper-left corner: Mommy, my brother Jonathan (4 1/2 years), my sister Christen (3 years), and me.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This Thursday will be bittersweet because I can’t celebrate with Mommy; she passed away on March 21, 2002 after her almost fifteen year battle with cancer. I can’t hug her. I won’t be able to hear her voice as she congratulates me on the huge milestone in my life…. there will be many tears this Thursday.

Mommy

